Drylands Learning and Capacity Building Initiative
Share This

Pastoralist Parliamentary Group elects new leaders

The Pastoralist Parliamentary Group PPG members of the 13th Parliament have new leaders who will steer the caucus to success.

PPG is the largest caucus in the 13th parliament. The PPG membership in the 13th parliament stands at 102 MPs (19 Senators, 81 MPs) and 2 members in the East African Legislative Assembly elected/nominated from 15 counties. It includes 25 women MPs, and 3 members are persons with disability.

PPG members represent sixty-six (66) constituencies with a total of 3,283,800 voters, (14.9%) of Kenyan voters) and with a population of over 10M people in Kenya.

The purpose of the caucus is to mainstream the pastoralists’ agenda within the national political and policy processes.

Saku Member of Parliament Hon. Col (Rtd) Ali Raso Dido was elected the Patron of the PPG succeeding former Garissa Township MP Aden Duale who currently holds the Defence Ministry docket.

Mandera North MP Hon. Maj (Rtd) Bashir Abdullahi was elected the Chairperson deputized by Turkana West MP Hon. Daniel Epuyo Nanok.

Hon. Sarah Korere, MP Laikipia North, holds the Secretary-General docket deputized by Hon. Ruweida Mohamed Obo, (MP Lamu East).

Hon. Elijah Memusi Kanchory (MP Kajiado Central) was elected as the treasurer deputized by Hon. Abdi Ali Abdi, (MP Ijara).

Hon. Peter Lochakapong, (MP Sigor) will hold the Organizing Secretary docket deputized by Narok South MP, Hon. Kitilai Ole Ntutu.

Hon. Florence Jematiah, Baringo County Woman Representative, will be the Whip while Hon. Timothy Toroitich, (MP Marakwet West) is the Legal Advisor. Hon. Mohamed Adow, MP Wajir South, was elected as the media advisor.

The executive committee members are Hon. Joseph Samal Lomwa, (MP Isiolo North) and Hon. Amina Dika Abdullahi, (Tana River County Woman Representative) and Samburu Senator Hon. Sen. Lelegwe Steve Ltumbesi.

The Pastoralist Parliamentary Group (PPG) was formed in 1998. The PPG members represent 15 Counties and 66 constituencies whose land area is 75% of Kenya’s land with a population of 10 million people.

The Kenyan Non-Governmental Organization – Drylands Learning and Capacity Initiatives (DLCI) is the PPG Secretariat.


The PPG leadership in the 13th Parliament:


NO# Name Position County
1. Hon. Col (Rtd) Ali Raso Dido, MP Saku Patron Marsabit
2. Hon. Maj (Rtd) Bashir Abdullahi, MP Mandera North Chairperson Mandera
3. Hon. Daniel Epuyo Nanok, MP Turkana West Vice Chair Turkana
4. Hon. Sarah Korere, MP Laikipia North Secretary – General Laikipia
5. Hon. Elijah Memusi Kanchory, MP Kajiado Central Treasurer Kajiado
6. Hon. Peter Lochakapong, MP Sigor Organizing Secretary West Pokot
7. Hon. Ruweida Mohamed Obo, MP Lamu East Deputy Secretary General Lamu
8. Hon. Abdi Ali Abdi, MP Ijara Deputy Treasurer Garissa
9. Hon. Kitilai Ole Ntutu Narok, Narok South


Deputy Organizing Secretary Narok
10. Hon. Florence Jematiah, County Women Rep. Baringo Whip Baringo
11. Hon. Timothy Toroitich, MP Marakwet West Legal Advisor Elgeyo Marakwet
12. Hon. Mohamed Adow, MP Wajir South


Media Advisor Wajir
13. Hon. Joseph Samal Lomwa, MP Isiolo North


Member Executive Committee Isiolo
14. Hon. Amina Dika Abdullahi, County Women Rep Member Executive Committee Tana River
15. Hon. Sen. Lelegwe Steve Ltumbesi, Senator Member Executive Committee Samburu