Drylands Learning and Capacity Building Initiative
Share This

President Dr. Ruto at the PPG Members Induction Workshop

The Pastoralists Parliamentary Group’s (PPG), purpose is to mainstream the pastoralists’ agenda within the national political and policy processes. The membership of PPG is open to all members elected or nominated from the pastoralist counties to the National Assembly (MPs/CWR) and the Senate (Senators) regardless of their ethnicity or political party affiliation. Members of Parliament from the pastoral communities play a key role in enhancing the voices of these communities and ensure representation, lobbying and legislation that protects the interests of the pastoral communities. This year’s PPG Members Induction Workshop was held at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC) in Nairobi and was graced by H.E. William Samoei Ruto, the president of the Republic of Kenya.

This year’s theme was, The Voice of the Pastoralists in the 13th Parliament: How the PPG can enhance Climate Change Resilience; Human Security; Peacebuilding; and Promote Community Land Rights. The membership of PPG in the 13th Parliament (2022-2027) stands at 96 members from 10 political parties and 4 Members elected as independents tickets. There were a total of 25 women parliamentarians among the PPG members at the beginning of the term including the first pastoralist woman elected to the Senate from Isiolo County. The PPG members represent 15 Counties and 64 single member elected parliamentary constituencies with a total of 2,593,165 registered voters in 2017. The total number of people recorded by the national population census in these 15 counties is 9,787,730 people.